On Friday evening, November 17, 1911 , three Howard University undergraduate students, with the assistance of their faculty adviser, gave birth to the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity . This event occurred in the office of biology Professor Ernest E. Just , the faculty advisor, in the Science Hall (now known as Thirkield Hall ). The three liberal arts students were Edgar A. Love, Oscar J. Cooper and Frank Coleman. From the initials of the Greek phrase meaning “friendship is essential to the soul,” the name Omega Psi Phi was derived. The phrase was selected as the motto. Manhood, scholarship, perseverance and uplift were adopted as cardinal principles. A decision was made regarding the design for the pin and emblem, and thus ended the first meeting of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity.

The Epsilon Theta chapter was founded at the University of Wisconsin-Madison on September 15, 1969 . The founding brothers of the chapter were Brothers Charles Calvin Peevy, David Ford and Kenneth L. Ervin who wanted to enlighten other men to the principles, which they so deeply enveloped. The chapter is one that represents the Tenth District of Omega, which includes Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, and Minnesota along with Wisconsin. The chapter is currently one of the longest running, active chapters of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. in the Midwest.

For more information, please contact:
Wesley Harden

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. Founders:
Dr. Ernest E. Just
Professor Frank Coleman
Dr. Oscar J. Cooper
Bishop Edgar A. Love

Epsilon Theta Chapter Founders:
Charles Calvin Peevy
David Ford
Kenneth L. Ervin

Well known members:
Dr. Ernest E. Just
Professor Frank Coleman
Dr. Oscar J. Cooper
Bishop Edgar A. Love
Langston Hughes
Earl Graves
Rev. Jesse Jackson
Dr. Carter G. Woodson
Dr. Charles Drew
Percy Julian
Dr. Ronal E. McNair
Michael Jordan
Joe Torry
Ricky Smiley
Steve Harvey
Bill Cosby
Tom Joyner
Shaquille O’Neal
Hank Aaron
Vince Carter
William “Count” Basie
and many, many more…

Internationally Mandated Programs:
Achievement Week
Social Action Programs
Talent Hunt Program
Memorial Service
Reclamation and Retention
College Endowment Fund
Health Initiatives
Voter Registration, Education and Mobilization

Epsilon Theta Programs:
Omega Week
Charles Drew Blood Drive
Christmas 4 Kids
Founders Day
Memorial Service
Achievement Week Scholarship
Dinner on the Ques
Student Tutors at MATC
Hop Show for P.E.O.P.L.E. Program Students
Omega’s MC Battle

Current Epsilon Theta Members:
Wesley Harden – President

For more info : Check out our website at http://omega.rso.wisc.edu
(We will soon have updated info on the website)

NATIONAL WEBSITE: http://www.omegapsiphifraternity.or