Founded on January 15, 1908 on the campus of Howard University in Washington D.C. , Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated is the first Greek Letter Organization to be established and nationally incorporated by college-trained African American women.
The purpose of Alpha Kappa Alpha is to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards, to promote unity and friendship among college women, to study and help alleviate problems concerning young women and girls in order to improve their social stature, to maintain a progressive interest in college life, and to be of service all mankind.
Lead by a dream and determination, the following women are revered as our 20 Pearls:
Ethel Hedgeman Lyle, Anna Easter Brown, Beulah Burke, Lillie Burke, Marjorie Hill, Margaret Flagg Holmes, Lavinia Norman, Lucy Diggs Slowe , Marie Woolfolk Taylor, Norma Boyd, Ethel Jones Mowbray, Alice Murray, Sarah Meriweather Nutter, Joanna Berry Shields, Carrie Snowden , Harriet Terry, Julia Brooks, Nellie Quander, Nellie Pratt Russell , Minnie Smith

2006 – 2010 National Program
The Heart of ESP: An E xtraordinary S ervice P rogram
Platform 1: Non-Traditional Entrepreneur
Platform 2: Economic Keys to Success
Platform 3: Economic Growth of the Black Family
Platform 4: Undergraduate Signature Program – Economic Educational Advancement Through Technology
Platform 5: Health Resource Management and Economics
Educational Advancement Foundation (EAF)
One of the largest charitable organizations administered by African American women, EAF is dedicated to providing support for lifelong learning through award scholarships, fellowships and mini-grants, made without regard to gender, race, ethnicity or religion.

The Epsilon Delta Chapter was chartered May 18, 1968 at the University of Wisconsin-Madison by 12 dynamic women. This historic event made Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. the first Black sorority on UW’s campus, as well as the first chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha in the state of Wisconsin . Given the small number of Black students enrolled at UW in 1968, the presence of a Black sorority on this campus made a very important statement.
The Epsilon Delta Chapter was involved in promoting Black unity and Black heritage on campus, as well as providing service to the community. Through our programming and service initiatives, this powerful legacy of Being of Service to all Mankind proudly continues today, and we continue to do it with “Style and Grace”.
Charter Members of Epsilon Delta Chapter:
Margaret Balsley, Carol Brunson, Karen Dixon , Priscilla Florence , Judith Gordon , LaCharion Griffin , Sara Jackson , Deborah McCormick , Gwynette McDonald , Renee Thomas, Cheryl Turner , Carma Whitfield

Current Members of Epsilon Delta Chapter:
Meloni Williams – President
Meloni Williams – Vice-President
Natasha Phelps – Recording Secretary
Danielle Harris – Treasurer
Meloni Williams – Corresponding Secretary
Tiffany Dillard – Financial Secretary
Ashley Brown – Member
Kasandra Bellamy – Member
Crystal Ikanih – Member
Tiffany Davis-Baer – Graduate Advisor

Epsilon Delta Annual Programming:
Pink Lemonade: Welcome Back Social
Pretty Fresh Discussion Series
An Evening of Style and Grace: Poetry and Performance Night

Epsilon Delta Service Initiatives:
Internet Safety with the Boys & Girls Club of Dane County
Womanhood Training with the African American Ethnic Academy and Girl Neighborhood Power
Top Teens of America – Madison Chapter
Advancement Through Technology Workshops for Adults

For more information, visit the national website: