The Zeta Xi Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta chartered April 18, 1969

Once upon a time there were nine young women who decided to make the campus of the University of Wisconsin a little greater and in 1969 founded the Zeta Xi Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta.

The nine young women who founded the chapter were dedicated to the ideals of the sorority and went about activating them on the campus of UW-Madison. These women are:

  • Cheryl Birtha Coomer
  • Lynette Thompson Edwards
  • Charlene Harris Hodge
  • Ella Mae Johnson
  • Wilma Barnes Lankford
  • Permelia Latham
  • Ernestine Catchings Maerlon
  • Vivian Elaine Maxwell
  • Doris Holifield Wheatley

The function of the sorority as a public service organization was emphasized while the social aspect was of secondary importance. In Zeta Xi Chapter we continue to strive to serve the community. Our hard working efforts include: Voter Registeration, Delta Academy, Adopt-A-Highway, Laff Jam, and DeltApollo. We would like to extend our gratitude to the UW-Madison community for supporting our functions.

National History “Our History”

With the opportunity and grace that these have bestowed, may our torch our wisdom never extinguish…Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., was founded on January 13, 1913 at Howard University by 22 undergraduate women. These young women wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., is a private, non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide services and programs to promote human welfare. Those who are interested and would like to earn their masters in human resources management online, can click right here for additional information. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., has a membership of over 190,000 predominately African-American, college-educated women. The Sorority currently has 900-plus chapters located in the United States , Japan, Germany, Bermuda, Haiti, Liberia, the Bahamas, the Republic of Korea and the Virgin Islands .

The major programs of the Sorority are based upon the organization’s Five-Point Program Thrust: Delta’s Five-Point Program Thrust Economic Development Educational Development International Awareness and Involvement Physical and Mental Health Political Awareness and Involvement

Program Development and Implementation in Delta is a cooperative function with several committees and executive board members involved. Those with direct leadership responsibilities forimplementation include members of the Program Planning and Development Committee, Social Action Commission, Commission on Arts and Letters, Information and Communications Committee, Membership Services Committee and Regional Officers.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., owns property located at 1703-1709 New Hampshire Avenue, NW , Washington , D.C. , which is its National Headquarters office and the headquarters of Delta Research and Education Foundation (DREF).

The Founders of Delta Sigma Theta:
Winona Cargile Alexander, Madree Penn White, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Vashti Turley Murphy, Ethel Cuff Black, Fredericka Chase Dodd, Osceola Macarthy Adams, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Edna Brown Coleman, Edith Mott Young, Marguerite Young Alexander, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Eliza Pearl Shippen, Zephyr Chisom Carter, Myra Davis Hemmings, Mamie Reddy Rose, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Florence Letcher Toms, Olive Jones, Jessie McGuire Dent, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Ethel Carr Watson